OFFICE OF THE CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER: MANIPUR

www.ceomanipur.nic.in Telefax: 0385-2414239/2414859



ceo_manipur@eci.gov.in jtceo_manipur@eci.gov.in

PRESS NOTE

Imphal, the 27th February, 2022

Voter Slip not a stand alone ID proof, Voters need to carry one of the 12 Identity documents

No. COE-101/1/2021-ELEC-Media: CEO, Manipur Shri Rajesh Agrawal stated that since ECI has discontinued Photo Voter Slip as an identity proof with effect from 28thFebruary, 2019, Voters shall require to produce one of the 12 identity documents approved by the Commission, which include EPIC card, Aadhaar Card, MNREGA Job Card, Passbooks with photograph issued by Bank/Post Office, Health Insurance Smart Card issued under the scheme of Ministry of Labour, Driving License, PAN Card, Smart Card issued by RGI under NPR, Indian Passport, Pension document with photograph, Service Identity Cards with photograph issued to employees by Central/State Govt./PSUs/Public Limited Companies and Official identity cards issued to MPs/MLAs/MLCs.

2. A total of 38 Assembly Constituencies including 10 in Imphal East, 13 in Imphal West, 6 in Bishnupur, 6 in Churachandpur and 3 in Kangpokpi will go for polls scheduled tomorrow. A total of 12,09,439 voters including 580607 male, 628657 female and 175 transgender voters are in Phase-I. There are a total of 10041 PwD electors and 251 Centenarian voters. There are a total of 1721 polling stations including 23 P-3 polling stations and 117 P-2 polling stations. It is worth mentioning that 381 polling stations will be completely manned by all women polling personnel. Interestingly, 4 Assembly Constituencies namely 13-Singjamei, 14-Yaiskul, 15-Wangkhei and 58- Churachandpur will be manned by all women polling teams. It is also notable that 1 polling station in 59-Saikot will be manned all PwD polling personnel. A total of 7168 polling personnel are being deployed and all polling personnel have reached their respective polling stations.

3. A total of 173 candidates including 15 female are in fray for the poll scheduled tomorrow. Out of 173 candidates, 39 candidates have criminal antecedents. The party wise number of candidates: BJP-38, CPI-1, INC-35, NCP-6, NPP-27, JD(U)-28, LJP (Ram Vilas)-3, RPI(Athawale)-6, Shiv Sena-7, Kuki National Assembly-2, Kuki People's Alliance-2 and Independent-18.

3. Arrangement for webcasting/videography have been made in all Polling Stations. Adequate CAPF have been deployed in all polling stations. In addition, micro observers have been deployed in all critical polling stations.

4. To ensure COVID safe election, adequate arrangements have been made in all polling stations. All polling stations have been sanitised. ASHA and Anganwadi workers have been engaged. Marking of circles with minimum distance has been done to avoid crowding. Besides, mask, glove, face shield, thermal scanners, PPE kit etc. have been provided to polling parties. Voters who are COVID positive or are under quarantine will be allowed to vote at the last hour between 3 PM to 4 PM.

5. On accessibility front, provision for Pick up/Drop facilities for PwD and aged electors are made available with wheelchair facility. Besides, two volunteers have been engaged in each polling station for assisting voters. Voter Assistance Booth have also been set up in all polling stations.

6. Postal Ballots for service electors have been issued to all 13274 electors electronically and 559 have been received till date. A total of 13067 voters on election duty have applied for postal ballot, while 2419 PBs received at the facilitation centre, the rest have been sent to the voters by post at their addresses. Further, 911 postal ballots have been issued to PwD voters out of which 906 postal ballots received till date. In the category of 80+ voters, 5049 PBs issued and 4968 received. For Essential services, 15 PBs issued and all PBs received.

7. The movement of EVMs are being tracked with the help of e-Traccar App which is embedded in the mobile phones of Polling personnel and Sector Officers. Besides, a polling personnel will be able to report any sort of EVM malfunctioning or any untoward incident happening in the polling station. This will enable the Returning Officer to take immediate corrective actions. Booth App shall also be used to report two hourly report of voter turn out by the polling team. Control Rooms have been set up in all offices of Returning Officers, District Election Officers and Chief Electoral Officer, Manipur. Among one of the initiatives, a voter will also be able to know the queue waiting time in the polling station with the help of voter facilitator app which is available for download in google play store.

8. In order to ensure free, fair and smooth election, certain restrictions have been imposed on poll day in the polling station premises. Providing free conveyance to voters to and from the polling stations by a candidate/his agent is a corrupt practice and strictly forbidden. As provided in Section 130 of Representation of the People Act, 1951, canvassing within polling station or any public or private place within a distance of 100 meters of a polling station is strictly prohibited. Cellular phones, cordless phone etc., shall not be allowed except officers on duty in the 100 meters of a PS. Besides, no campaign related posters or banners within 100 meters of the Polling Booth are allowed. Use of loudpeakers within 100 meters of the polling booth.

Sd/-Rajesh Agrawal Chief Electoral Officer, Manipur

Memo No. COE-101/1/2021-ELEC-Media **Copy to:**

Imphal, the 27th February, 2022

- 1. The Director (IPR), Manipur, Imphal for causing wide publicity.
- 2. The Station Director, AIR-Imphal/ DDK; News Editor, ISTV/Impact TV/TOM TV with a request to announce the Press Note as news item.
- 3. All District Election Officers/Returning Officers
- 4. All Recognised National/State Political Parties.
- 5. Smt.Sujata Salam, DBA for uploading in CEO's website.
- 6. Notice Board