## OFFICE OF THE CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER: MANIPUR

## **PRESS NOTE**

Imphal, the 29<sup>th</sup> September, 2020

No.4/ELEC/MLA-2020: The Election Commission of India, vide its Press Note No. ECI/PN/67/2020 dated 29<sup>th</sup> September, 2020 has announced the election schedule for Bye Elections to the Manipur Legislative Assembly in respect of 30-Lilong and 34-Wangjing Tentha Assembly Constituencies. The schedule for Bye Elections for the said Assembly Constituencies is as under:

SI	Poll Event	Date
No		
1	Issue of Notification	13.10.2020(Tuesday)
2	Last date of making Nominations	20.10.2020 (Tuesday)
3	Scrutiny of Nominations	21.10.2020 (Wednesday)
4	Last date for withdrawal of	23.10.2020 (Friday)
	Candidature	
5	Date of Poll	07.11.2020 (Saturday)
6	Counting of Votes	10.11.2020 (Tuesday)
7	Date before which the election	12.11.2020 (Thursday)
	process shall be completed	

- 2. With the announcement of the Election Schedule by the Election Commission of India, the Model Code of Conduct comes into effect immediately and will be applicable in the entire district of Thoubal.
- 3. All intending candidates and political parties, and all stakeholders concerned are, therefore, directed to comply strictly with the Model Code of Conduct with immediate effect until the election process is completed.

Sd/-

(P.K. Singh)
Chief Electoral Officer: Manipur

Memo No. 4/ELEC/MLA-2020

Imphal, the 29<sup>th</sup> September, 2020

Copy to:

- 1. The Director of Information and Public Relations along with 20 (twenty) copies of the Press Note for wide publicity. It is requested to ensure insertion of the Press Note in the local dailies as a News item.
- 2. The News Editor, AIR, Imphal for announcement of the Press Note.
- 3. The News Editor, DDK, Imphal, for announcement of the Press Note.
- 4. The News Editor, ISTV/ Impact TV/Times of Manipur (TOM), Imphal with a request to announce the above Press Note as a news item.
- 5. District Election Officer/Returning Officers concerned.
- 6. Notice Board.

## Copy for information to:

- 1. Secretary to the Governor, Manipur, Raj Bhawan, Imphal.
- 2. Secretary to the Chief Minister, Manipur
- 3. PPS/PS to all Cabinet Ministers, Manipur.
- 4. Chief Secretary, Government of Manipur.
- 5. Director General of Police, Manipur.
- 6. All Addl. Chief Secretaries /Principal Secretaries /Commissioners-cum-Secretaries, Government of Manipur.
- 7. Secretary, Manipur Legislative Assembly, Imphal.
- 8. All Heads of Departments, Manipur.

Copy also to: Shri Mohammad Umar, Secretary, Election Commission of India, Nirvachan

Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001

(Ramananda Nongmeikapam)
Joint Chief Electoral Officer
Manipur